Emotionless

Standard

I felt the welling up inside,
As my eyes gave way to tears.
I fought them back and tipped my head,
As learned throughout the years.
I felt the sinking feeling,
As the dread filled up my chest.
I suppressed the ache with each deep breath,
As I had done with all the rest.
The loneliness washed over me,
As the memories stormed my mind.
I preoccupied myself with tasks,
As I had in the days behind.

Hold back; suppress; and push away:
My life has turned to this.
But, my feeling keep reminding me:
This isn’t what I wished.
I’ve fallen so far and sunken so low;
There isn’t an easy way out.
I live without emotion…
Is this really what life is about?

Leave a Reply

