Help

Standard

When I go about my business,

Ignoring what’s inside.

Please know that it’s a cover,

For this hurt cannot subside.

When I brush you off and pull away

I need you even more.

But when you pull away yourself,

It wounds me to the core.

When I pour that drink each night,

I am grasping for relief.

I wish that you were my escape

To extinguish all this grief.

Those moments before bed at night

Are when desperation hits.

Realize these are cries for help,

And see beyond the fits.

When I wake up in the morning,

I’m tired of feeling so sad.

I need your help to get me through

       And to take away the bad.

Leave a Reply

