Financial Secrets of a Stay-at-Home Mom

Standard

I don’t make a dime, but I consider my financial position in this household to be one of the most important. So, how could it be that I hold myself to such high accountability when I am a mere stay-at-home mom?  I save the money.  I budget the money.  And, I overall plan for our expenses and savings.

My job did not come quickly.   Time had to pass; shit had to get thrown at us; and I had to take charge with this time that I am given at home.  It began slowly, with budget grocery stores and sacrifices.  This run-of-the-mill method evolved with time, leading to monthly grocery planning, scoping out sales, yard sale shopping, and couponing.

Fast forward to present day, as I have just finished checking the computer for the latest sales.  It is Christmas shopping time, and we use gift cards that we buy each month through the year to aid in the expenses.  We also buy slowly, beginning early.  There were no immaculate sales today so I passed on ordering kids’ clothes.

My day usually begins with checking those sales.  I receive emails from couponing websites that highlight the special deals, and I follow those sites on Facebook as well.  These list printable coupons or online sales.  Recently, I emailed a few companies to request coupons.  I got a positive response the other day, complete with coupons in the mail.  I was ecstatic getting the mail today as well, discovering that 3 companies had sent a total of 11 coupons in response to my emails!

All of these existing deals can be coupled with the Apps on my phone, which give discounts on certain products each week.  All I have to do is take a picture of my receipt with any of those products, upload it, and the savings is placed in my account.  Once the balance reaches $20, I can “cash out” to receive a check in the mail.

Though time consuming, my hard work has paid off.  We are saving more money each month on grocery shopping, and we have even begun to build up a stockpile of bulk items and extra items that have been on sale.  Every little bit counts, and I am proud to say that I am contributing this way towards our family’s financial future.

Leave a Reply

