Shadows

Standard

         I rise early in the morning, though my shadows will not awake until later. I feed my shadows, and my shadows watch as I put together my own breakfast. I go about the daily tasks, and I prepare myself as my shadows take note. As I clean, my shadows are aware of my dedication to our home. As I cook, my shadows know the importance of nourishment. As I spend time with my shadows, they know that they are not to be left in the dark. The day wears on like this, as I am well aware that my shadows are a constant. They are always there, one step away. The way that I conduct my daily life is not lost upon my growing shadows; it is always setting an example.

            It’s a great responsibility, but one that I realize will not be everlasting. As difficult as it is to imagine, my shadows will one day pull away. They will gain light as they age and they will move forward with all that they observed. Someday, they will find their own shadows. And, I hope that they will realize the beauty of that time in their lives…for our shadows don’t stay young forever.

11219420_10153250950368096_6184505011977609137_n

Leave a Reply

